Incumbents depart; 7 file for Winfield commish

Share |
By Shane Farley
January 22, 2013 - 4:42:43 pm

Six last-minute filings have prompted the need for a primary in the race for city commissioner in Winfield.

Incumbents Taggart Wall and Tom McNeish let the deadline pass Tuesday without filing for reelection. That means the commission will have a different look this spring.

Merrill K. Gordon already was in and had been since late December. This week, though, he was joined by Wes Townsley, Jarrod Long, Beth Richardson Wilke, Kevin Coon, David Hudson and Mike Ledy.

“We’ve been very busy with filings today,” election chief Karen Defore said.

Ledy has previously served as mayor and commissioner and Wilke was previously a member of the school board.

The list of seven candidates will be winnowed to four in a primary contest set for Feb. 26. Winfield city commission is the only race where a primary is necessary, Defore said.

In Ark City, all three incumbents have filed for new terms on the commission and will face three challengers.

Jay Warren, Chad Giles and Patrick McDonald all are finishing up current terms. Karen Baird, Scott Snavely and Dan Jurkovich have filed to run, too.

That race will be settled in the general election in April.

Cowley County officials expect to have a sales tax referendum on that ballot as well.

Share |